University of the Witwatersrand

The University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, is a multi-campus South African public research university situated in the northern areas of central Johannesburg. It is more commonly known as Wits University or Wits (/vəts/ or /vɪts/). The university has its roots in the mining industry, as do Johannesburg and the Witwatersrand in general. Founded in 1896 as the South African School of Mines in Kimberley, it is the third oldest South African university in continuous operation.

The fundamental role of any university is to promote freedom of enquiry and the search for knowledge and truth. Wits has built a reputation for itself in this role, establishing itself at the industrial and commercial heart of South Africa as a centre for education and research of the highest quality. Wits' mission is to build on this foundation in a way that takes account of its responsibilities within South Africa today; and to maintain and enhance its position as a leading university in the Republic, in Africa, and in the World by sustaining globally competitive standards of excellence in learning, teaching and research.

The University of the Witwatersrand is a Public university located in Johannesburg.
The University of the Witwatersrand was founded in 1922.
The current president of University of the Witwatersrand is Dr. Judy Dlamini.
According to verified online sources, the University of the Witwatersrand enrolls a total of 39377 students.
According to the main website, the University of the Witwatersrand has a total student population of 25352 undergraduate students and 14025 graduate students.


Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in South Africa.

Location of University of the Witwatersrand

Locations of University of the Witwatersrand